Best/Worst live action Gotham City

Primal Slayer

Let the Siren scream
Reaction score
gotham-city.gif
With The Batman we get yet another interpretation of Gotham City....out of all the live action portrayals which would be some of your tops and bottoms?

Just for reference of all the different Gothams:
Batman 66 - Gotham
Burtons Batman - Gotham
Schumacher's Batman - Gotham
Nolan's Batman - Gotham
Snyder's Batman - Gotham
Batwoman/Arrowverse - Gotham
Gotham - Gotham
Titans - Gotham
Reeves/The Batman - Gotham​

1. Burton's Gotham
2. Schumacher's Gotham
3. Reeves' Gotham
3.5. That little bit of Whedon's Gotham we saw at the beginning of JL's theatrical cut.
4. Snyder's/Yan's Gotham
5. Gotham's Gotham
6. Phillips' Gotham
7. Batman 66' Gotham
8. Nolan's Gotham

Haven't really seen much of the other shows to rank them.

For me, Gotham is gritty, extravagant, sculptural. As an architect myself, I'm fascinated by its portrayal in the comics. That was my one problem with Nolan's version. Don't make it your average American big city. Gotham City feels like a character on its own and should be portrayed as such.

Burton and Schumacher had the best versions of Gotham on film. Worst was Nolan, particularly TDKR. I have not seen the Gotham tv series or The Batman yet.

It’s hard to choose anything other than the 89 Gotham because it’s the trailblazer. That set the standard for how Gotham should look. Shortly afterwards that Gotham was adapted wholesale into the comics and I see bits and pieces of it in any stylized take on Gotham (TAS and the Arkham series). The funny thing to me is that the 89 Gotham is the standard for some people and they aren’t even aware of it.

1a) Anton Furst - Batman 89
1b) Matt Reeves - The Batman

GAP

2) Chris Nolan - TDK Trilogy
3) Todd Phillips - Joker 2019

GAP

4) Zack Snyder - BvS / JL
5) Burton / Welch - Batman Returns
6) Joel Schumacher - Batman Forever / Batman and Robin