Not too much on the product front, huh?

SHADOWBAT69

outlaw
Reaction score
There is still an ongoing cartoon series, theres "supposedly" this ongoing general character based line, there was a new movie 2 years ago with a new one being made, and the entire license has been granted to Mattel. So, why the heck isnt there representation for Batman in the damn toy aisles??

I know that this has been an ongoing problem for well over a year now, no big line release, very limited distribution, absolutely horrid case ratios. WB thought Mattel was going to be better than Kenner/Hasbro?

Ive been collecting Batman for 20 years now and I will say that this has been the worst "dry spell" I have ever experienced. There is no reason for it, especially considering that there are current projects being worked on as far as commercial support. I can honestly say that Mattel has absolutely killed the toy aspect of my collecting. Even "IF" there were suddenly a consistent couple waves put out for a new line, I dont think Id start buying it, due to the fact that given Mattels history with toy lines, I would never be able to complete it. Even with the aftermarket, selection is so slim, the prices are way too much to pay for a "new" retail toy item.

DCD isnt really doing much either as far as getting my attention. Seems like every version of Batman they are putting out is so similar to the previous one, I cant really justify adding it to my collection. Plus, the price tag on a simple "action figure" is getting rediculous. Even with the statues and higher end collectables, the prices seem to increase with each new release. Used to be there were only a couple of statues released a year for Batman, and usualy only one of them were high ticket price. It was easier to afford the releases thru the year. Now, you need to have a loan taken out to try to keep up with everything. This has also put a major stoppage in my collecting.