Transformers Quality Transformers?

P2Mc28

Civilian
Reaction score
I'm new to the whole transformer toys and what not. Several months before the movie came out, I pretty much gobbled up any info I could find. I was even reading reviews on the toys.

To hold me over until the movie actually came out, I bought Leader Optimus Prime. Glad I did- that thing is one hell of an impressive transformer. Since then, I've wanted to pick up a few more of the toys that people seem to have been praising, like Blackout and Ironhide. Just got Ironhide last night, as well as ordered G1 repaint Ratchet and Leader Brawl.

After fooling around with Ironhide, I almost instantly saw the difference in quality between him and OP. Sure, he's a great transformer and the thing is fun, but things like the floppy "shoulder pads," the weak midsection, and the positioning of the head really stand out to me. Are things like this common amongst these figures? Is OP simply a stand out figure? Is it just the difference between a $20 toy and a $40 one? Are there any Voyager figures out there that match Leader Prime in terms of articulation, alt mode believability (i.e. Starscream's body is terribly out of proportion to his wings, but, say, Ratchet is pretty damn good), and overall "complexity"?

Oh, and kibble is the term for all the stuff that folds up and sits somewhere, trying not to be noticed too much, right? Like the side panels/gas tanks of OP and Ironhide's roof/windshield?

P2, you should most definatly check out the Transformers:Alternators line. a series of scale cars (1/24 or 1/25) and trucks that have opening hoods, doors, and trunks and have detailed interiors. each one transforms into a robot version of a classic 'G1' character, with the car's engine becoming the gun for the robot. I have the following ones and what they turn into

sideswipe: red dodge viper roadster
prowl: acura rsx cop car
swindle: yellow jeep wrangler rubicon
dead end: black and silver dodge viper race car