Windows Live Messenger - BIZARRE! Problem

batman11

Reaction score
Hey guys, recently I had a really, REALLY strange thing happened to me with Windows Live Messenger 8.5. I've been spending hours upon end and have still not come up with anything. It's to the point where it's really freaking me out. LOL

Anyways, here's the story:

I've been using Windows Live Messenger for probably about 3 months now with no errors whatsoever. A few days ago, I signed out and went to bed. I woke up the next day, double-clicked to open up Windows Live Messenger and nothing happened. I checked the computer's processes, and it said that the messenger process was running, but I could not use my Messenger. So naturally, I decided to uninstall it and re-install it. After re-installing the messenger, I tried to open it up and yet again, the process started but nothing happened. At this point I figured something must have gone wrong in the registry. So I uninstalled it again, and then opened up Registry Crawler. From there, I deleted any entry that was related to Windows Live Messenger. I repeated this multiple times, as well as the fact that I used CCleaner to fix any registry issues afterwards. I then restarted the computer, and proceeded to install Windows Live Messenger again. Here's the weird part. Every time I booted up the installer, it told me that I already had it installed and I was good to go. Wait...what? I did a registry search and not one key was connected to Windows Live Messenger, yet the installer told me I was ready to start chatting. So I restarted again, and then ran a Disk Cleanup and defragmented my hard drive. I then restarted again once the processes were finished, and tried to install again. Same problem. For some reason the computer is telling the installer everything is installed and working. I even tried to install an older version of Windows Live Messenger, however it too said that I already have a version installed, and that if I wish to continue I should go t