Films without a linear structure / narrative

Seems to me you'll love TREE OF LIFE. THE FOUNTAIN also comes to mind from what you've described. SMART PEOPLE comes to mind as the best slice of life film I've seen, it has no narrative structure - it's seeing these characters lives in a moment in time and like life ends open-ended which may piss off those who want a clean bow at the end, to me I liked how accurate that was. Some other indie films do this as well.

As a writer, I love a lot of foreign independent films even though it's early and none come to mind at the moment lol other than I'M GLAD MY MOTHER IS ALIVE (especially if you're looking at disjointed moments from the past, current, and future that weave together). But in the states we have this notion of beginning, middle, end - a,b,c. I've always hated that personally. Overseas, it's more of a slice of life without any of the narrative limitations Hollywood typically has.

I was just re-watching Tarkovsky's The Mirror, which is one of the most beautiful and poetic films I know of, and this time I didn't really focus on cinematography and actually tried to experience what the film had to offer.

I was stunned. The way the story seems to go nowhere, depicting random life events one after the other, going back and forth between present and past, eventually binding them all in a beautiful visual essay on life, love and memories really got to me, and I think its sheer strength was the way all those scenes were edited together in one seamless way, yet totally freed from any chronology issue. It's like the narrator has put his stream of consciousness into images and sounds.

I am now looking for other similar movies, and I figured some of you cinemaniacs out there might want to enlighten me.