Something is wrong with my browser

Discussion in 'Tech & Support' started by SapphirePrima, Dec 23, 2007.

  1. SapphirePrima Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Messages:
    8,629
    Likes Received:
    0
    A while back I had a problem with Java script now my computer won't display flash-based websites correctly nor can I view youtube or listen to music on imeem. I also can't look at my bookmarks. I've tried verifiying the lastest Java script but that does nothing.

    Can I get some help?
     
  2. GoldenAgeHero Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Messages:
    12,340
    Likes Received:
    0
    hmm do you have adobe flash player installed ? if not google it and download it.

    come back here if the problem persists.
     
  3. GoldenAgeHero Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Messages:
    12,340
    Likes Received:
    0
    did it work?!
     
  4. ComicChick I Work Too Much

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2004
    Messages:
    70,584
    Likes Received:
    2,691
    which browser are you using?
     
  5. SapphirePrima Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Messages:
    8,629
    Likes Received:
    0
    No it won't let me download adobe reader.

    I'm using Yahoo AT&T.
     
  6. GoldenAgeHero Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Messages:
    12,340
    Likes Received:
    0
  7. SapphirePrima Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Messages:
    8,629
    Likes Received:
    0
    It won't a X appears at the download box.

    Here's another thing. On my computer my family has different user names. And on my name it's only doing it. :(
     
  8. Badger Side-Kick my Ass!

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2005
    Messages:
    8,812
    Likes Received:
    0
    My guess would be your account has java and probably other things disabled in your Browser options, probably because your account is not the administrator.
     
  9. Malice BMFH

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2001
    Messages:
    12,744
    Likes Received:
    0
    try using foxit reader instead of adobe, its smaller and faster to load.
     
  10. BeserkerHilf Registered

    Joined:
    May 7, 2003
    Messages:
    6,800
    Likes Received:
    273
    i too am having trouble with viewing websites.


    sites like darkhorizons.com won't open up. any advice on that?
     
  11. Badger Side-Kick my Ass!

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2005
    Messages:
    8,812
    Likes Received:
    0
    Need more info...

    Do you control the network (ie home or work)?

    Do you have multiiple users on the pc in question?

    If so, are you the administrator?

    And, what do you mean by won't open? Do you get a message of some sort?
     
  12. BeserkerHilf Registered

    Joined:
    May 7, 2003
    Messages:
    6,800
    Likes Received:
    273
    We have a wireless router set up

    I'm the only one of this laptop and am the administrator.

    and i'm getting a server not found message.


    it's funny because when i go to work and siphon wireless internet from a neighbor's house, the sites work just fine.
     
  13. Badger Side-Kick my Ass!

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2005
    Messages:
    8,812
    Likes Received:
    0
    My guess would be the wireless router at home then, it sounds like that site is blocked for whatever reason. If you can log into the GUI for the Router take a look at the "Rules" area.

    Not sure if it would be called "Rules" or not on your router, so you may have to do some searching. It will be an area that blocks/allows any keywords, websites, and/or ports.

    If you don't have access, ask the person that set it up.
     
  14. BeserkerHilf Registered

    Joined:
    May 7, 2003
    Messages:
    6,800
    Likes Received:
    273
    ...and how would i log into the GUI?
     
  15. Badger Side-Kick my Ass!

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2005
    Messages:
    8,812
    Likes Received:
    0
    It has a private ip address assigned to it, example would be 192.168.1.1. You then open your web browser and type in http://192.168.1.1 and it will prompt you for a username and password. You enter this info and the GUI opens up. I'm guessing since you don't know any of this you didn't set it up and don't have the credentials needed. I'd talk to the person that set it up. :up:
     
  16. BeserkerHilf Registered

    Joined:
    May 7, 2003
    Messages:
    6,800
    Likes Received:
    273
    alright, got into it, just gotta look this stuff up in the user manual.


    thanks for your help this far.
     
  17. WallCrawl Registered

    Joined:
    May 14, 2002
    Messages:
    13,429
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've had similar problems. Ever since installing Firefox 3 I've been having problems with youtube and flash media. No sound, and the video stops after a couple of seconds. No problems viewing youtube in IE7 though. I tried uploading my Flash, didn't do squat. Did anyone else have similar problems after upgrading?
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
monitoring_string = "afb8e5d7348ab9e99f73cba908f10802"