Cinematography: The art of looking the same as in every other movie

As a graphic designer myself, I'm always intrigued when a film looks good. It makes the movie so much better for me. It elevates it to another level.
When I see a David Fincher film, I always know at least I will be satisfied in that regard.

I loved the cinematography and composition in "True Detective."

On a related note, while the filters don't bother me so much, you know what does? Modern shot compositions and the number of cuts in a scene.

I loved the old style method of using a continuous shots for extended periods of time, and even whole scenes. This modern method of having to cut back and forth every .5 seconds is borders on obnoxious half the time, and always limits the ability to really soak in the artistic quality of the shots.

THIS!!! Oh my God YES! I think Nolan's weakest aspect in his films is cinematography, but it doesn't baffle me he's been brought up here, because he is God on these forums. His average LOS is 3.1 seconds which painstakingly annoying as you said. Let the shots develope. Unfortunately, now it is so much easier to cut and cut and cut with digital editing softwares, that people have become lazy and just spontaneously shoot coverage and edit it together, hence why everything cuts every second. Back in the old days, and a few auteurs now, make each shot ****ing count. They didn't cut cut cut. They fit as much information in one shot, whether it be through movement or other means and then they cut.

I loved the cinematography and composition in "True Detective."

True Detective was actually shot pretty damn well.

Okay, I know I've brought this up before but I am not a visual person.