I'm a doctor, not a Bones thread!

R_Hythlodeus

Nerd Supreme
Reaction score
this is the place to talk about Bones, his role in STiD and Karl Urbans portrayal of the doctor.
How big will his influence on Kirk be and will we finally see the Big 3 or will Uhura replace him somewhat?

I think his role as the third member of the Big 3 will be diminished somewhat, due to the necessity of gender parity. In some ways it makes sense; you don't always want to be sending your best surgeon into the thick of trouble all the time. But it's a pity, as Bones is probably the best single character across the entire Star Trek canon, IMO.

Uhura's role is definitely bumped up, partly to create a strong female character, partly because she's Spock's love interest in this timeline, but I would like some Big Three conversations like the OS.

There needs to be lots more of Bones in the sequels. Karl Urban has nailed the character and anyway, there should be lots of the old interactions between Spock, Kirk and McCoy in the new.

I'm all for better roles for the ladies, but not at the expense of one of the main characters.

There is certainly some differences in the overall dynamic with the whole Uhura thing, and judging from their commentaries the filmmakers were certainly focused on Kirk/Spock/Uhura as a central "triangle" and not just as a love triangle.

I would like to see some more of the classic dynamic in at least one scene and more Bones in general. Or if not the classic triumverant than at least a good Doctor-as-Bartender scene. Urban is fantastic.

Well if the 9 minute preview is anything to go off of we will be seeing the kind of Kirk/Spock/McCoy dialogue you guys are talking about. One telling instance is when Spock is trapped in the volcano, telling Kirk to not worry about him and that the preservation of the many comes before the individual. McCoy asks Kirk what would Spock do if he were in his situation, and Kirk says he'd let him die.