I'm having problems with AIM 6

Discussion in 'Tech & Support' started by Boom, Dec 7, 2007.

  1. Boom I got nothin'

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    50,324
    Likes Received:
    10,015
    Okay. I have an "HP Pavilion" laptop computer in my dorm. I have the following connections:

    1394 Connection
    Local Area Connection
    Wireless Network Connection

    My dorm doesn't allow wireless internet access, so I have my laptop connected to the internet via an ethernet cable.

    My internet works fine, but I am having alot of trouble with AIM 6.

    Every time I sign in, it reaches the "Transferring" stage, but then goes back to the login menu with the message "Connection Lost."

    I have no ****ing clue what the problem is. Please help.
     
  2. Badger Side-Kick my Ass!

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2005
    Messages:
    8,812
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is this the first time you have used AIM at this location. If so, it's probably a firewall setting for the dorm. If not, :huh:.
     
  3. Boom I got nothin'

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    50,324
    Likes Received:
    10,015
    It's really been weird.

    I've been using AIM 6 since the beginning of the summer. It worked perfectly fine until a month ago. That's when I started having the problem. Then I saw that I needed to update AIM, and I thought that was the cause. I updated, and it worked well for about a week, and then the problem continued again.

    The thing is, if I keep trying to log in, eventually it works. But today, I seriously kept trying for an hour with no success.
     
  4. jaguarr Be Your Own Hero

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2003
    Messages:
    43,569
    Likes Received:
    1
    Try uninstalling AIM completely using the Add/Remove Programs function in Control Panel. Reboot and then reinstall the latest version of AIM. Could be something went corrupt when you upgraded that's causing intermittent issues.

    jag
     
  5. Fran Banned User

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Messages:
    30,114
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yeah, try uninstalling and reinstalling it.

    Works for me whenever I have problems connecting with it :up:
     
  6. Boom I got nothin'

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    50,324
    Likes Received:
    10,015
    I did earlier today and no success. I'll give it another shot and see if there is any change.
     
  7. Kritish Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Messages:
    21,613
    Likes Received:
    0
  8. Scarlet spidey Old school

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2000
    Messages:
    25,375
    Likes Received:
    0
    Uninstall it and install Trillian instead.:(
     
  9. tzarinna Mamochka

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,933
    Likes Received:
    311
    Empty your trash.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
monitoring_string = "afb8e5d7348ab9e99f73cba908f10802"