Mike Judge's Silicon Valley

The new trailer is up on YouTube and it looks hilarious! Can't link to it because of naughty language but check it out. TJ and Kumail look like they are going to bring the funny to the show

Anyone else watching this?

Hilarious!

It helps also that I am a Software Engineer myself, so the dialog contains an extra layer to me. My wife is computer illiterate and she finds it just as hilarious.

This is hilarious.

"Names stick. My name's only Jared because Gavin called me that on my first day. My real name is Donald."

That keeled me over properly. Love this show so far.

The Peter Thiel Sesame Seed Scene From Silicon Valley Is Real!

s3gt2ex3mozz22wjhtpv.jpg

For me, the turning point in watching HBO's Silicon Valley can be traced back to the Burger King subplot in the third episode.

That's when the broad caricature of Peter Thiel transforms from a smug, aspy(er)-than-thou venture capitalist—hates college, loves profit, take it or leave on human beings—into something exquisitely specific: delicious in its weirdness, but almost in awe of his intellect. Based on this article about Bill Gates and pea shortages in North America, Mike Judge's satirical take might not be that far from reality.

The sesame seed scene hinges on Peter Gregory, the lead investor behind Pied Piper, the compression software startup at the heart of the show. Gregory is maybe 75 percent Thiel, 15 percent Paul Graham, and 10 percent Quora questions. Another promising startup in his portfolio begs Gregory for an "emergency capital injection" of $15 million in order to avoid shutting down. However Gregory, played by the late great Christopher Evan Welch, is more consumed by a sudden curiosity about fast food.

"Have many of you ever eaten at Bur-gur King?

Well, I was just driven past one. And while I know that their market cap is $7 billion plus, I realize I am unfamiliar with their offerings. Is it popular among your peers? Is it. . . enjoyed?