Where is Metropolis Located in Smallville?

X Knight

Straight Edge
Reaction score
hey all.......I'm new to the Smallville series, and there's one thing I'm not sure of.

But, have they established on the show where Metropolis is located?

In the comics, I always thought Metropolis was on the East Coast.

But, in Smallville, it seems Metropolis is a big city in Kansas.

If you guys and gals could help me out here, I would be most appreciative.

thanks.......

Metropolis is a big city in Kansas that's about 3 hours from Smallville (a small rural farm community).

The travel times tend to work better if you don't think about them too hard. ;)

ok thanks....

soooo......Smallville's kind of like a souped up version of our real life Kansas City???.......

also.....if Metropolis is in Kansas........and Clark/Superman will eventually move there and make Metropolis is home base.......wouldn't that mean that Smallville's Superman never really leaves Kansas?????

super-bats said:
also.....if Metropolis is in Kansas........and Clark/Superman will eventually move there and make Metropolis is home base.......wouldn't that mean that Smallville's Superman never really leaves Kansas?????

Just call him Dorothy...

;)

in one episode they said it was a 6 hour drive, but then Lana and Clark could both see it while sitting on top of a windmill in Smallville...I live about 3 hours away from Minneapolis/St. Paul, and even if I climbed the highest damn building around here, there's no chance in hell I could see the skyline of the twin cities...so, it's in Kansas for some damn reason (that's the one part of the show I really, really hate), and it apparently changes how far it is from Smallville at random points, probably due to...I dont know, portals or something :o

That may not be Metropolis they see it could be Central city. Don't forget it's in Kansas too.

Anyway from Wikipedia
In relation to Smallville said: