For those of you working in your 20's

Malice

BMFH
Reaction score
Greetings all.

I have some words of Wisdom.
If you are 20-25 and working, please make sure to start putting money towards your retirement. You may not believe that you dont need to now, but the more you do now, the more you have later on.

I am not an expert in this....this is more just a little Public Service Announcement.

The big issue in investing to prepare for retirement thru IRAs....Roth IRAs...ect..
Is TIME.

The earlier you invest, the better.

MoreYouKnow.jpg

Also, check and see if your company has a 401k plan. Several company's match, up to a certain percentage, that you put in it. :up:

Now you know. And knowing is half the battle.
gijoe.jpg

Pffft. I plan on winning the lottery.

People in their 20's think they're invincible, will have unlimited resources, and can take risks without worry. Granted , that is the time to think so, but don't be stupid either. I'll be 30 this month and I'm making sure all my **** is in order for the future.

a pension is something I've been really looking into, but sadly the more i look into it, the less trusting i am. the way pensions are going in the uk by the time i hit 65(or what ever the hell the retirement age is by then) the government would have messed it up

Say you regularly invest $200 a month in an all-stock tax-deferred account such as an IRA or a 401(k) plan.

If your fund returns an annual average of 10 percent — which is about what you should expect over long periods in an index mutual fund that reflects the market — you will have $48,300 at the end of 10 years. After 20 years, you'll have $167,352; after 40 years, $1.3 million; after 50 years, $3.4 million.

Link

what if you don't plan on living that long?

What if you plan on going out in a blaze of glory young guns style

lol. I need to find a decent job first.

-TNC