Valiant Entertainment...or how I fell in love with comics again.

sandwraith

The Trailblazer Awakens
Reaction score
Since the Big 2 and their obsession with movies and reboots, I've been distant from a lot of my old loves, dropping titles like Batman, the Avengers, Aquaman and so forth. My current pull list is pretty much IDW's TMNT...and not much else.

A void was sitting in my soul where solid storylines and well-kept continuity in a vast shared university. Imagine my surprise when I decided to pick up the Deluxe Edition of Harbinger War from my LCS. This was my gateway drug, my slippery slope that I enjoyed thoroughly.

I'm a novice to the Valiant universe. I remembered X-O Manowar back in the early 90s from comic book ads about the Iron Man/X-O Manowar video game back on one of the old consoles. I also remembered picking up Deathmate Blue and Yellow(or Gold?) back when Image was hot but most of my memories of it are hazy but the new Valiant Entertainment stuff is pretty accessible, combining both excellent writing and some of the cleanest artwork I've seen in a while.

I've picked up the deluxe editions of Unity, Armor Hunters and Bloodshot as well and am eagerly awaiting Imperium and Bloodshot Reborn to be released in Deluxe HC forms.

Anyone else have any feedback on Valiant or what other titles I should be looking at? Archer and Armstrong seems like the comedy book while Ivar,Timewalker seems more for Whovians. Unity has me tempted to look at Eternal Warrior and X-O Manowar but I get a very "flashback"-prone feeling about both characters.

I'm not familiar with this universe yet. Was that a bad decision that I made?

I really can't say. Rai is sort of like the Legion of Superheroes of Valiant. We read LOS and see easter eggs and references to characters from the present timeline but because you are new to the Valiant Universe itself, you might miss out on the same type of references or the events that led up to the 4001 A.D timeline.