What do you do if People stealing your ideas

The Batman

The Dark Knight
Reaction score
I've got a problem.

I've been writing this fan fiction type thing for about 8 years, based on parodies of comic book characters. The thing is, the characters are blatantly based on people I know. The past few years, I've been posting these stories on my facebook.

One of my stories was basically a parody of the Justice League. So, i thought it'd be fun to start a group. Recently, there've been chats, and essentially...things have gone out of my control. Some people seem to think that since I based characters on them...they somehow own the characters. They tried starting a website without my approval, but when the site owner got wind that I wasnt happy with that, he relented.

Another chat basically had them talking about taking the characters based on them and writing their own stories...again, talking about this without my approval. Now, I've gotten annoyed. I wrote the final story and ended it.

Hours after I post this up on facebook, my friend tags me. He wrote a story of his own. Using most of my characters. Without my approval.

Anytime I bring up that they're my characters, it seems to be ignored. i was wondering if there's really anything I can do about this. It's not lawsuit worthy, but its definetly bothersome.

Has anything like this happened to you guys?

I've got a problem.

I've been writing this fan fiction type thing for about 8 years, based on parodies of comic book characters. The thing is, the characters are blatantly based on people I know. The past few years, I've been posting these stories on my facebook.