Comics A Content Analysis of X-Men...need help and input.

usagicassidy

Sidekick
Reaction score
So for my research class I'm studying the X-Men comic books, specifically about how the X-Men are a symbol and metaphor for people who are different, of different races or religion or gender or sexual prefrencece, yet the comics still implement much more white, straight, males and females than at first glance.

The X-Men may appear to be culturally diverse...but these are the stats of my research thus far:

X-Men (by approx. join date): Professor Xavier
Cyclops Jean Grey Iceman Beast Angel Wolverine
Rogue Nightcrawler Colossus Storm Banshee Sunfire
Thunderbird Havok Polaris Shadowcat X-Man Psylocke
Bishop Cable Dazzler Longshot Rachel Forge
Gambit Marrow Maggot Cecilia Reyes Thunderbird2 Slipstream
Lifeguard Sage Northstar Stacy X Darwin

Villans (by approx. apperance):
Magneto Mystique The Blob Pyro Avalanche Quicksilver
ScarletWitch Toad Sabretooth Emma Frost Destiny Sinister

New Mutants (by approx. group):
MultipleMan Karma Moonstar Cannonball Wolfsbane Siryn
Magma Sunspot StrongGuy Magik Rictor Warpath
Husk Skin M Synch Jubilee Shard
Surge Dust Tag Hellion Wallflower Pixie
Anole Elixir Mercury Rockslide X-23 Wither
WindDancer Chamber Layla Miller Armor Namor Juggernaut
Total: 84

Stats for total X-Men, Villans, and new Mutants:

American - white: 43
American - black: 7
Hispanic: 4
Russian: 2
UK: 4
Asian: 9
Australian: 3
Native American: 4
African: 3
Italian: 1
Spanish: 2
South American: 2
Middle-Eastern: 1
German: 1

Straight: 75
Gay: 9
Bi: 1

Male: 47
Female: 37

X-Men or Important Mutants for less than 2 years, in the background for the rest, and ending in Death or Depowerment or Deactivation:
Banshee Sunfire Thunderbird Dazzler Longshot Maggot
Cecilia Reyes Thunderbird2 Slipstream Lifeguard Northstar Changeling
Frenzy LMastermind Mimic Paulie Revanche Sunpyre
Xorn Petra Sway Rictor Pyro Chamber
Destiny Wind Dancer Shard Magik Karma