Bassists

PyroChamber

Not lactose, it's milk!
Reaction score
Since there's a thread for guitarists, let's have one for the bassists out there. Here's your time to shine!

I play bass. I'm not great at it, but I play enough to entertain myself. Had to learn since everyone else I knew either played drums or guitar. Bass players always have someone to play with.

les2.jpg

end_of_discussion.gif

I play bass. I'm not great at it, but I play enough to entertain myself. Had to learn since everyone else I knew either played drums or guitar. Bass players always have someone to play with.

The bolded part is so true. Like many bassists, I'm a guitarist from the beginning (and I have some various guitars home still, and still play occasionally with friends and at parties and such, never gonna give up guitarplaying).

But my brother's been a bassist since like he was 11 and later made some tours through Europe, recorded some records etc in the 90's. Some day I just told him I wanted a good bass (mostly for fun), so he tipped me off these incredibly wellbuilt Yamaha BB basses from the 80's that still hadn't been overhyped\overpriced like many 80's japanese instruments today.

I've been playing my Yamaha BB 2000 -84 ever since. And when a drummer friend asked me if I wanted to play with him and a guitarist/singer, I got curious. And now we've been jamming together for like five-six years I think. Just for fun without any pretentions at all, and I see myself as a quite mediocre bassplayer, but who the hell cares! At my age, I just see our rehearsals as magical music therapy that makes you live a couple of months longer in the end. :woot:

But it's really fun like hell to play bass, and what I like is that you're kinda both part of the melody/chord/riff section AND the rythm section at the same time in the song.

And like Matt Mortem said in his post above: Bassplayer always have someone to play with. There's always too many guitarplayers and singers..