Doctor Who comic recommendations

shallbecomeabat

Yes, father...
Reaction score
Hey there,

I'm a big Doctor Who fan and follow the series since its reboot in 2005 (and love Eccleston's Doctor still the most). Since I'm also a big comicreader (mostly DC/Batman/Vertigo stuff) I am thinking about checking out the Doctor in comics as well. Do you guys have any recommendations for me where to start and what to buy?
Is there a book where the 3 newest Doctors meet? Are the comics official canon, or more like the expanded Star Wars universe?

Hey there,

I'm a big Doctor Who fan and follow the series since its reboot in 2005 (and love Eccleston's Doctor still the most). Since I'm also a big comicreader (mostly DC/Batman/Vertigo stuff) I am thinking about checking out the Doctor in comics as well. Do you guys have any recommendations for me where to start and what to buy?
Is there a book where the 3 newest Doctors meet? Are the comics official canon, or more like the expanded Star Wars universe?

If you're looking for Doctor Who comics, your best bet is to look toward IDW Publishing. Here's a link to their DW page: http://www.idwpublishing.com/catalog/series/496/ I'll go over my recommendations a little further down...

IDW's comics don't do too many crossovers between different Doctors. In fact, it's rare to find any comics featuring the 9th Doctor and Rose. I think there's a flashback or two, but that's about it. They only started publishing their own Doctor Who comics a couple years ago.

IDW's comics aren't really canon with the TV series. At best, the writers of the comics just try to fit the comics somewhere inbetween episodes of the show without making too many contradictions. But that's the case with the entire expanded Doctor Who universe. It's pretty much impossible to fit all of the comics, novels, audios, and even the TV episodes into a single continuity without things getting mixed up.