How do I increase RAM?

Discussion in 'Tech & Support' started by Bat Brain, Sep 5, 2004.

  1. Bat Brain

    Bat Brain Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    Messages:
    8,589
    Likes Received:
    0
    my computer currently has only got 254mb of RAM. how can i increase this to 512mb? i heard about something called a RAM module. is that what i need? any help is appreciated. :)
     
  2. Ktulu

    Ktulu Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
  3. black_dust

    black_dust FrEaK-A-ZoId!!!

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Messages:
    18,284
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just buy another 256 and you have 512, or sell the 256 and buy 512 and then you have a open slot :)
     
  4. Bat Brain

    Bat Brain Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    Messages:
    8,589
    Likes Received:
    0
    are they available to buy in computer stores. cause i don't buy things off the internet
     
  5. Ktulu

    Ktulu Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just about every electronics store will sell RAM.

    Most will even install it for you.
     
  6. Bat Brain

    Bat Brain Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    Messages:
    8,589
    Likes Received:
    0
    alright. thanks for all your help guys.
     
  7. Breck

    Breck Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2003
    Messages:
    2,148
    Likes Received:
    0
    You're going to pay twice as much if you buy retail. I've bought RAM online numerous times and I've never had a bad experience. I recommend www.newegg.com. Very popular and reputable business with really great prices.

    Also, you need to know what kind of RAM your computer can take i.e. what speed and whether it's DDR or not. If you can't figure it out just tell me what brand and model your computer is I can easily find out for you.
     
  8. Bat Brain

    Bat Brain Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    Messages:
    8,589
    Likes Received:
    0
    its a Dell Dimension 4500
     
  9. Breck

    Breck Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2003
    Messages:
    2,148
    Likes Received:
    0
  10. Bat Brain

    Bat Brain Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    Messages:
    8,589
    Likes Received:
    0
    the link doesn't work.
     
  11. DJ BLASTER

    DJ BLASTER Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2003
    Messages:
    1,024
    Likes Received:
    0
    crucial.com is pretty good too. i have used it for two different computers buying 3-4 chips. all are working O-Tay
     
  12. Breck

    Breck Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2003
    Messages:
    2,148
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can usually get Crucial brand memory through newegg for less than Crucial sells it themselves. You can also get other brands that are just as good or better for less.
     
  13. Malice

    Malice BMFH

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2001
    Messages:
    12,744
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have bought Memory from memory.com

    They have worked well for me in the past.
     
  14. Dougsta

    Dougsta Guest

    Can you tell me what I need?
    I'm really bad at computers and I don't know how to check which version but how about this?:

    Computer name: FZN5G0
    System manufacturer: American Megatrends Inc.
    System model: P4S61

    I have 192MB RAM and I want to increase it for this game I bought
     
  15. jaguarr

    jaguarr Be Your Own Hero

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2003
    Messages:
    43,576
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you really don't know what you are doing when it comes to mucking with your hardware on your computer, including buying and installing RAM, then take it someplace that will help you select the correct memory and install it for you. It's not really difficult to install memory, but I've seen so many people buy the wrong RAM and damage their systems trying to install it that it's mind boggling. Pay a little extra and get it done right if this is outside your realm of expertise and you aren't 100% clear and informed after doing some reading up on the subject.

    jag
     
  16. Man-Thing

    Man-Thing Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2003
    Messages:
    10,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    when dealing with adding memory, is it basically the number of pins that each stick has as to weather or not it's correct? I've seen, some with like 180, and others with 168 or something...
     
  17. Man-Thing

    Man-Thing Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2003
    Messages:
    10,118
    Likes Received:
    0
  18. War Lord

    War Lord Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2003
    Messages:
    30,667
    Likes Received:
    0
    I increase my RAM by adding an s, so it becomes RAMS.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
monitoring_string = "afb8e5d7348ab9e99f73cba908f10802"