Question About Screenwriting...

Reaction score
First off, I apologize if this is in the wrong place, I just have a question that I'm hoping some of the more legal/screenwriting savvy users will be able to answer for me.

I know a lot of screenwriters in Hollywood use code-names for their screenplays to try to prevent leaking, for example, Spider-Man 3 was called "Back For More". My question is, would it be illegal to use one of those code-names for the actual name of another movie by a completely different party?

I would figure there wouldn't be any legal bindings to those movies, especially since there are plenty of instances where multiple movies have come out under the same titles, while being completely unrelated. That said, I'm not exactly "in-tune" with these types of legal issues, so I'm hoping someone else here could help me out a bit.

I wouldnt think that working titles or code titles would have any copyrights at all but I could be wrong. Im no law expert just a mild mannered repeat offender lmao

You mean like making a movie called "Blue Harvest"?

You've got a good point there. But, Family Guy attached their own name to it... Would that make a difference?

I don't mean to seem picky, I'd just really like to know as many "ins and outs" as I can.

There's a screenwriting thread (I think) in the Fandom boards. As for your question....no idea.

No. I highly doubt they'll give a crap.

Also, unless its like Star Wars, or a well known movie, a title rarly is copyrighted. So you could theoroeticly make The Transporter: A movie about a man who delivers food.

This is a post-production issue, not really screenwriting.

I think even the fake names are registered. I remembered several Indiana Jones titles were copyrighted as smoke screen to what the actual one would be named.

It's really a studio problem and not one you'd have to worry about nowadays unless you're distributing a highly anticipated movie.