Question about wifi

Discussion in 'Misc. and Multiplatform Games' started by GoldenAgeHero, May 14, 2006.

  1. GoldenAgeHero Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Messages:
    12,340
    Likes Received:
    0
    now with the upcoming wii( that i plan on getting) which will have wifi, it worries me that i may not get the chance to take advanatage of it. I'm on dial up, yes the evil dial up which you all hate and yes you would not want me joining you in your live game play sessions. but goddamnit i want to play super smash bros brawl, online. there are several hotspots in my area, theres a mcdonalds within a 1 mile radius. knowing that whatelse would i need to take advatage of wifi or do i need to upgrade to dsl(which i find painfully expensive these days).
     
  2. StrainedEyes All the way up it!

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2000
    Messages:
    16,332
    Likes Received:
    0

    Wifi needs a router to work.. so Dial up isn't compatible at all. And even with hotspots, it all depends on how close they are, and whether they are code locked or not.
     
  3. GoldenAgeHero Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Messages:
    12,340
    Likes Received:
    0
    so ill need to upgrade to dsl or broadband?
     
  4. Master Chief ლ(ಠ益ಠლ)

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2003
    Messages:
    27,669
    Likes Received:
    1
    If I were your neighbour I'd let you leetch off my wireless connection. :up: But I'm all the way in Canada so. :o Yeah, you gotta upgrade. Go with broadband.
     
  5. GoldenAgeHero Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Messages:
    12,340
    Likes Received:
    0
    your canadian?! not that theres anything wrong with that. arghh i didnt want to pay for broadband..too much money. we'll see how desperate i get.
     
  6. Symbiotic Venom Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Maybe someone that lives near you have a router so you can go online.
     
  7. Spidey-Bat Ours is the Fury

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2003
    Messages:
    39,483
    Likes Received:
    5
    It's worth it. You can play online games and it is MUCH faster.
     
  8. GoldenAgeHero Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Messages:
    12,340
    Likes Received:
    0
    yeah, but im trying to look for a provider, bellsouth gives you 256 kbs dl for 24.95...im not gonna pay 24.95 for that dl speed. im trying to see if aol is available to me since they chrage 25.90 for 1.5.
     
  9. Mentok Registered

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Messages:
    20,647
    Likes Received:
    0
    Its shocking how many people dont even enable basic security settings with WiFi.

    One of the best things the PSP could do was Auto detect an access point. I gathered a whole list of access points in my general area thanks to that portable device :p
     
  10. lars573 Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Messages:
    3,748
    Likes Received:
    0
    You expect a hotpost to work over a mile. You got hopes. You might pick it up. But the signal would be so weak you'd be lucky to be getting 1 kbps speed out of it. If it would even stay connected. For a hotspot to be effective for you it needs to be a few hundred meters away.


    I pity you if you can only get DSL. It's not worth it. We pay $39.99/month for 10 Mbps cable. Cable it's the only form of broadband that's worth it.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
monitoring_string = "afb8e5d7348ab9e99f73cba908f10802"