Question for Drummers/people who know drumming

jaqua99

....I need a horse!
Reaction score
Ok. A buddy of mine I jam with wants us to play shows, open mic night type things. But I am hesitating because I am afraid I may not be good enough to play with someone like him. He's played every instrument since he was 5 (we're both 21 now), however I started playing drums only a year and a half ago...he tells me I am becoming very good, however, we're friends so I don't trust that completely lol.

to those of you who teach drumming, or know of it, what should the progression be after a year and a half? Meaning, on average, what is the progression, and where do I fall?

I can play along to almost any led zeppelin song, I got the beat down for fool in the rain
[YT]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=14GYov0EdyQ[/YT]
this beat, perfected it about 4 months ago. I have complete limb independence with a combination of 2 or 3 limbs, when I move to 4 limbs doing things differently, I can do it, but it's difficult, I have to think, and I WILL mess up. I am a lefty, but a right setup is way more comfortable.

I just recently started playing jazz, I can play triplets pretty fast, like the end solo in rock and roll by zeppelin, that speed I can do effortlessly, however any faster, and they aren't clean.

Rudiments, I suck at. I am self taught, I played by listening, I never knew the importance of rudiments. Never practiced paradiddles, sinigle stroke rolls, double stroke, anything like that. Literally a month ago, I started playing rudiments and practicing them. I can play an alright press role, I learned how to do that a while ago, but my weak hand is my right.

As I said I started recently with the rudiments, and my double strokes have gone from basically a beginners speed, to a bit slower than a stead buzzing double stroke role.