Question for the guitar players in the forum...

Polux

Just some nut
Reaction score
Hi, I just started playing guitar very recently ( a couple of months ago) and I wanna buy an electric guitar; I saw on the Guitar Center website the Epiphone les Paul Special II, saw some videos and heard is a good guitar for begginers; also at a very good price (I'm kinda broke right now :o ) so i decided to buy it; but then I saw that they also have a LP Special I with P90 pick-ups for a lower price; my question would be, which one should I get?? Is there a big difference between the 2?? I, didn't even know there was a "Special I" model, I thought there was only "Special II"; some friends told me that the P90s are really good pick-ups, and kinda pricey; I can't go to the store I try'em myself cause i don't live in the US and I'll have to ask a friend to bring it over for me, so I need to be sure I'm making the right decition with this.

I'll appreciate any help on the matter.

Thanx in advance!

Polux

you are new to the instrument, no need to spend a lot of money. If you are literally on a learning curve, learn the instrument first, get the sound later. That's how i was with my guitar.

and my drums. I bought my set for 80 bucks. ****** thing. Got a new snare eventually, a vintage 60s acrolite, and some skins for my drums, been learning on that thing for a year and a half. I got good, have recording music with friends with this kit, and now, a year and a half later, I am finally almost ready to make the financial decision to buy a new set.

Learn the instrument first, don't worry about sound, the les paul special I or II should be fine. and for you, you should simply go with the cheaper option. Do you plan to keep it as a hobby? If you do, spend cheaply, learn the instrment, get good, save up, and buy legitimately nice guitar, and a nice amp.