Simon Dark

Bubonic

Superhero
Reaction score
Anyone else read the first two in this run?
Not bad, sort of reminds me of Edward Scissorhands and Fred Krueger mixed up together.

Bad jokes aside, its got a pretty dark tone, and is setting up to be a pretty interesting read... I'm dissapointed that I seem to be the only person here reading it!
By all means I am a comics novice on the grand scale of things, and happened to see the cover in my shop, and I wanted it... Despite my built in objection to DC. (programmed by Marvel.)

Simon Dark seems to have been created from a number of dead bodies and, as such, has no memory of his past. He exhibits some super-human abilities such as enhanced speed and agility, as well as extraordinary strength. He also states that he remembers everything he reads, which implies he may have a photographic memory. In the first issue, he claims he doesn't know where he came from nor how he came to inhabit Gotham City, but remembers he was smaller then and has grown since; however, his "straps have not"

i1401304_AASimonDark01001.jpg
[/URL]

I picked up the first issue and I liked it. The artwork is good and the story seems to be interesting. I will pick up the second issue next time I go to the comic book store. I am curious how much he fits into continuity, like Frankenstein from the Seven Soldiers of Victory, and the DC universe.

I've read the two issues out so far and I enjoyed them. It could just as easily been done at Image or Vertigo, but for whatever reason, Niles decided putting it in the DCU (Gotham City, to be exact) was a natural fit. If it gets Hampton to draw Batman at some point, then I'm most definitely for it. :)

I heard on other boards a few people saying this character be more fit for Vertigo, is it just a violence issue?
I felt the violence came off just fine in these if thats the case.