• We experienced a brief downtime due to a Xenforo server configuration update. This was an attempt to limit bot traffic. They have rolled back and the site is now operating normally. Apologies for the inconvinience.

Stupid Router!

ihateusernames

Civilian
Reaction score
I was just wondering if anyone can help me out with this.
My laptop got stolen a few weeks ago, so I got myself a new one.

The problem with it is, it doesn't pick up on my routers wireless signal.
I know it can pick up wireless, because it had done before I got it to my house (I tried it out in my mums).

So I have to connect via the ethernet cable.
I'm new to this wireless stuff, so any help would be great.

I know the router works too though, because my Wii is online.

I just don't understand the problem! :cmad:

I can't really help you with this - I have plenty of my own problems with wireless. You'd probably have more luck having this in the Tech Support forum ;)

See, there is a nice way of saying that you're stupid and posting in the wrong places :)

:D

Sorry dudey :)

Just take notice of the first half of my post, the second half was purely jest ;)

Tricky one that. There are lots of potential causes and a fair few possible solutions too mate. Have a read of what I can think of:

Firstly, what type of laptop do you have (Make/Model)?

If you try what’s below and it doesn’t work, this would be useful to know.

Do you know who makes the Wireless Card (look in Device Manager under ‘Network Adapters’)?

If you access the properties of the Wireless Card (through Device Manager), look at the ‘Advanced’ tab if available and have a look for a setting called ‘Roaming Aggressiveness’ – This setting dictates how often the Wireless Card will try to search for another Access Point with a potentially better signal, but as you only have the one, you could probably get away with setting that to the lowest value.