Website 'web form' validation help.

StrainedEyes

All the way up it!
Reaction score
I designed a website for a small company and on it is a registration form that people fill out and submit. I used the Dreamweaver behaviors panel to add javascript validation to the form, but I know how easily bypassed this is. I am an extreme novice when it comes to web coding, I built the Form's .php action by watching a youtube video that explained step by step how to code.

The website receives a lot of submissions from fake email addresses or foreign email address with gibberish written in the rest of the form. I did not know before today that these could be hackers trying to get into the server and mess with the emails and site server. I have the javascript validation for the email address and name etc... but it does not help.

What I want to know, if anyone can help, is how to code Server side validation, which is much more secure then javascript. If anyone can point me in the right direction it would be appreciated.

http://www.ies2400.com/students/start/registrationform.html This is the form in question, I don't know if it helps.

I would love to help, but I really am not good at code...

Well, I can help you but it's kind of hard to figure out where to start.

If you want secure forms, you have to do all validation on the server side, as you know. Besides the things the JavaScript validates (which should be validated again on the server side because it's easy to override JavaScript validation), probably the most important thing your validation code should do is to check the data for any quotation marks or parenthesis and either add escape sequences, remove them, or return the data to the user as invalid. That will stop the majority of attacks from hackers, because it's the first step in SQL-injection, a common type of hacking. (check out this site to learn more about how hackers attack websites).