Why do we watch the MCU?

RileyBox

Civilian
Reaction score
Hello members of SuperHeroHype! My name is Riley Box and I am a graduate student at the University of Wyoming doing research for my thesis about why people like superhero movies. In order to do my research, I need to ask my fellow fans two questions. Please answer the questions in full sentences and include as much information as you would like. The time requirement to do this is solely up to you. Risks for participating are relatively non-existent except for if you get emotional while reliving memories. The benefits for participating is potentially learning about why and how audiences continue to love and watch the MCU as well as allowing yourself to freely express your opinions. You are not required to answer any questions and you may stop at any time. You are also not required to include any personal information in order to maintain confidentiality. If you have any questions, you may contact me at [email protected]. By responding to the thread, you are verifying your consent to participate in this project. Thank you for your assistance!

Question 1: Why do you watch movies within the Marvel Cinematic Universe?

Question 2: Why are you a fan of the Marvel Cinematic Universe?

For anyone seeing this, it would mean a lot to me if you all responded. It would help me with my thesis! Thank you sooooo much to anyone who helps.

Riley Box, in response to your questions. I feel the reason I got into enjoying superhero stories from a young age (not necessarily Marvel) is the characters were inspirational, and there's also an element of wish fulfillment which may be the case for most fans; to see ourselves as outwardly ordinary, yet possessing great power through which we can make changes in the world; to alter things and fight where in real life, we cannot.