How easy is it to learn how to play the guitar?

Basic chords are easy to learn but it gets more complicated after that. Also it takes some practice to get your fingers in the right positions.

Acoustic, I find, is much better to learn with than electric guitar. Builds up finger strength far more efficiently.

Definitely. I learned on an acoustic where the strings were really high off the fretboard. Once I got my electric i was way better. Playing songs on an acoustic is really fun anyway.

I'm a bassist, but I did pick up an electric guitar to fool around with. It was only $100. Nothing too extraordinary, but not bad for a cheap ass guitar either. With that said, I suck at guitar. I think I'm more cut out for bass anyway.

Learning to play any instrument depends on a few things, the same with everyone:

1. Your natural ability

2. Your dedication and willingness to learn and practice

3. Your readiness to study

You don't need any natural ability to play instruments at all (but, by any means, I'm not saying it doesn't help). Practice, practice, practice, and never give up on songs you want to learn or techniques you want to master. Keep practicing them, and you'll become as good as you want to be.

I'm a bassist, but I did pick up an electric guitar to fool around with. It was only $100. Nothing too extraordinary, but not bad for a cheap ass guitar either. With that said, I suck at guitar. I think I'm more cut out for bass anyway.

Learning to play any instrument depends on a few things, the same with everyone:

1. Your natural ability

2. Your dedication and willingness to learn and practice

3. Your readiness to study

You don't need any natural ability to play instruments at all (but, by any means, I'm not saying it doesn't help). Practice, practice, practice, and never give up on songs you want to learn or techniques you want to master. Keep practicing them, and you'll become as good as you want to be.