Hugh Jackman: the master at acting 'pain'

Kevin Roegele

Do you mind if I don't?
Reaction score
How good is Hugh Jackman at doing incredibly painful injuries? He's always completely convincing, you can see tears in his eyes (!) and you wince for him. In the Wolverine in the woods TV spot - ouch. I can't think of anyone who is as good as he is.

Im no expert but i think it tis called method acting. I read he took cold showers to prepare for his burserker rage scenes. I've tried a cold shower once and it's hell in there... you have to scream to get your mind off the freezing water so I kinda get why he did that.

Maybe for the pain scenes, he put ice in his pants up near the goods. That'd work for me.

Hugh Jackman is an extremely talented thespian!! I mean how convinced do people need to be about his talents? This guy can go from playing a flamboyantly gay man (Love those gold pants with the leopard print shirt.) in Boy From Oz to playing a total badass like Wolverine within a heartbeat.

Wesyeed said:
Im no expert but i think it tis called method acting. I read he took cold showers to prepare for his burserker rage scenes. I've tried a cold shower once and it's hell in there... you have to scream to get your mind off the freezing water so I kinda get why he did that.

Maybe for the pain scenes, he put ice in his pants up near the goods. That'd work for me.

I think after the first film, when he had his balls twisted in a harness during that Statue of Liberty stunt, he knew how to express pain on ALL levels!!

KenK said:
I think after the first film, when he had his balls twisted in a harness during that Statue of Liberty stunt, he knew how to express pain on ALL levels!!

Urk!! I'm a woman and just by reading this I'm cringeing.

KenK said:

Yeah, he hung in the air with the harness only attached to his dukes. That's gotta hurt, Gene.