Need Help With 'Brushed Metal' Effect

Neto Magnus

Superhero
Reaction score
I don't know how to use Photoshop but I am trying to learn. Recently, I read a tutorial on brushed metal effect. This is what I did so far...

Now the thing is, I'm trying to make it more realistic and want to add scratches and imperfections to it. None of the tutorials I've seen mentions it.

I was hoping anyone here can help me by adding scratches to it. :yay:

looks good neto, got a link for that tutorial? i wanna learn some PS stuff.

wish i could help you though.

assuming you made the "brushed effect" what about making a very small part, rotating it to the angle you want and sharpening it or something.

and do keep in mind that i'm an idiot when it comes to stuff like this, but it just popped in my head. :huh:

neto.jpg

Not sure what u r looking for exactly and can't say I'm an expert but hope this helps or at least gives some ideas+I like to learn new stuff if anyone else knows any good ideas...
First I made a new document of 1000x1000pixels.
Then I made a new layer filled 50% grey.
--To this later, noise>add noise (80%, monochromatic, gaussian)
--Then blur>motion blur (160 pixels, -45 degrees)
--(You can adjust contrat/levels if you want)
That's the brushed metal layer.....
For scratches I made a new layer.
--Use brush at 1 pixel to randomly draw some squiggles/scratches in black.
--Then go to layer>layer style...Check bevel/emboss...style emboss, smooth...direction, down...depth 1%...size and soften 0.
--Then play with lighting to get shadows u want. also i made gloss profile bevel shape the curve like a backward L instead of straight flat one...4th over from top left
--Set layer mode to "lighten"
For bumps I made a new layer
--Fill black
--artistic>sponge w/ values brush size 0, definition 25,smoothness 1
--stylize>emboss>height 2 pxls, amount 100%
--set layer to "lighten" opacity 50%
For lighting I made a new layer.