New to comics(both Marvel/DC), don't know where to start

Reaction score
Hey everyone, so I've always seen Marvel/DC movies around and after seeing Avengers and after getting into Smallville season 11, I kinda want to explore a bit more.

So I always see stuff like "Essential reads" and things like that, but they seem like a massive overload of information. I'm familiar with some stuff, so I'm not a total noob (for example I know what Civil War is, and Public Enemies etc).

So the question is, where do I start? With Marvel(especially Avengers), should I start with the Ultimate series? or the one below? And I know this is the Marvel section, I just want to ask with DC, should I start with the new 52?

Avengers-Assemble-1.jpeg

PS I'm familiar with the cartoons

Last edited:
That Avengers Assemble series is a good point to start from for the Avengers. It's still in its first arc, which is nice, and its purpose is to give new readers coming in due to the Avengers movie something to latch onto.

However, Marvel is winding down a HUGE mega event called Avengers vs. X-Men and there's going to be a big change after it's finished. A lot of Avenger titles are starting over with new creative teams, rosters are getting switched, etc. You can definately pick up Avengers Assemble, which reads alone without influence from any other comic, but your best bet is to pick up the new stuff when AvX finishes. The newest title, Uncanny Avengers, starts in September, and then more will be coming in October... such as a relaunch of Avengers and New Avengers.

As far as DC... yeah, stick with New 52 starting out. Most everything else prior to that (except Batman and Green Lantern stuff) has been wiped out anyway. Green Lantern pulls heavily from previous stuff (but is still enjoyable) and don't even try with Batman Incorporated... a lot of confusing history there... but everything else is fairly new reader friendly.