new avengers - it's that damn noob again!

LorDZeeD

Reaction score
i really did appreciate all the advice regarding house of M and dissasembled. i was just wondering if you all felt that picking up new avengers (from the start) would be a wise move for a complete noob to marvel who really enjoyed HoM and Avengers Dissasembled, but has little to no knowledge of the current marvel u outside of movies, cartoons and what's in the HoM and dissasembled.

looks (to my humble outsider eyes) like the marvel equivalent of the morrison/waid run on JLA - should i get it?

If you liked the other Bendis Marvel superhero stuff, you'll like New Avengers.
I think it's atrocious (like Bendis' other superhero work - he could take lessons from Mark Millar on how to write action) but it certainly has some appeal. Just, you know, not to me.

Ben Urich said:
If you liked the other Bendis Marvel superhero stuff, you'll like New Avengers.
I think it's atrocious (like Bendis' other superhero work - he could take lessons from Mark Millar on how to write action) but it certainly has some appeal. Just, you know, not to me.

Pretty much the same here.

If you really enjoyed HoM, you'll probably like it.

But...I hate it.

Just me.

New Avengers is garbage.

If you like spending $2.99 on 22 pages of 'talking heads' with little or no action until the sixth issue in that arc, then go ahead.

deemar325 said:
New Avengers is garbage.

If you like spending $2.99 on 22 pages of 'talking heads' with little or no action until the sixth issue in that arc, then go ahead.

Or 22 pages where 18 of those pages are just spreads and splash pages with no dialogue.

I say pick it up. I like it and it's the only way to get your grown up Avenger fix. If you don't care about their ages, then I super recommend Young Avengers.

If you liked Avengers: Dissassembled for some crazy reason, then you'll love New Avengers.