Start-Off Comics...

MissHush

Princess
Reaction score
sadly, i am just now being introduced into the wonderful world of comics. i've already read 'the long halloween', 'the dark victory' and 'batman: hush', but what are some other good ones to start out with? i have basic knowledge of main characters. and i really like the mystery of 'hush' and 'the long halloween'

As much as it pains me to say this, I might as well get this out of the way.

If you are reading Batman comics, you almost HAVE to read

Dark Knight Returns and Batman:Year One

They are basically requirements for the Bat-fans. And I actually thought Year One was decent. DKR I'm not much of a fan.

Kingdom Come is a book that is just fantastic. The art if nothing else is just plain gorgeous.

There are other really good graphic novels out there, but those three are really big name books. Of course, that is just the three DC ones I hear bandied about the most often.

I really enjoyed Superman: For All Seasons. But it is definitely a different, more thoughtful approach to the Man of Steel.

The other guys on the boards here are pretty solid. They should be able to recommend some other really good trades I missed.

I read DKR and B:YO, and I didn't find them to be "completely needed"

I read DKR and B:YO, and I didn't find them to be "completely needed"

Personally, I think Frank Miller is not all he's cracked up to be. I don't care much for Year One, but it's "Ok".

DKR to me is just a waste of the paper it's printed on, but for some reason, thats a heretical statement here on these boards (or so it seems at times :cwink:)

That's why I recommended Kingdom Come and For All Seasons.

For DC graphic novels/TPB's, two of my favorites are "I can't Believe it's not the Justice League" & "Formerly Known as the Justice League"

I LOVED that run. But I usually don't throw that out there because a lot of people dismiss the series due to its focus on humor. (although it had some great character development)