The New Diamond List for December 15th, 2010

Nothing with "Titans" in the title has been worth reading for the past several years to me. DC has f***ed that franchise up pretty spectacularly.

I have no lingering experiences with anything Titans so without that I think the Titans book is a great read.

Does it annoy anyone other than me that Marvel likes to dub their own stuff classic? Shouldn't it stand the test of time and inspire other things throughout the decades to be considered a classic? Calling it a "modern" classic doesn't mean squat. It comes accross pretty offputtish and cocky to me.

Well, I have to say ... for me, this Spidey story has become a classic. It was the best of the year ... maybe the best of the past five year! And one that I still think about today. Many stories are bagged and forgotten; but, this one worked out so well. It really was like "what if Brubaker wrote Amazing Spider-Man"...and, I mean that classic Brubaker we all so fondly remember from the past, when he was writing Daredevil.

JH, this was the story that I thought was the one you should have picked up. (Instead, you had to grab the one that came afterwards, filling in the gaps of Spidey's relationship with MJ.) With this, you missed a classic!

I wouldn't consider Grim Hunt a classic personally. It was a good arc, one of the best in ASM in a while, but not a classic by any means. The only classic in recent memory for me was The Death of Captain America. And not from #25 to Reborn, just up to when Bucky first took over as Cap.

DC COMICS
Batman And Robin #18 $2.99
Birds Of Prey #7 $2.99
Green Lantern #60 $2.99
Green Lantern: Emerald Warriors #5 $3.99

MARVEL COMICS
Captain America Man Out Of Time #2 (Of 5) $3.99
Thor First Thunder #4 (Of 5) $3.99

Last edited: