Is Frank Miller more Cinematic than Alan Moore

ShadowBoxing

Avenger
Reaction score
I was thinking about this in the gym, where I do all my deep thinking. :ninja:

Anyways. I had the pleasure of viewing the teaser trailer for 300 yesterday. This marks the second Frank Miller graphic Novel adaptation. I got to say, scenes once again ripped right out of the comic. The background, even the film itself looks like the comic (as did Sin City).

Why do you think Alan Moore is shafted when Frank Miller's movies are made to panel for panel perfection. Is Frank Miller better for movie translations, or is it something else.

I'm no expert on this by any means, but I do know that Miller has been involved in screen writing and directing films so perhaps he brings more of a cinematic sensibility to his work.

Perhaps, Alan Moore is too smart for Hollywood. It's not an outrageous theory that there can be such a thing in the movie business as a script that's TOO smart. Take a look at the current movie listings if you doubt that. Anyway, Moore has managed to distance himself from the screen adaptations of his stories. With the exception of V For Vendetta, I can't say I blame him. For the most part, Moore's work in the eighties helped redefine not just just comics, but literature in general. A lot of weight to put on such a pair of scrawny shoulders like his. Every panel of "Watchmen" is just as cinematic as say, "Godfather" or "Raiders of the Lost Ark". It's just damn near impossible to try and squeeze it all into one feature film. I can put it this way, Frank Miller is the Paul McCartney of comics and Moore is the John Lennon of them.

-so sayeth the eggman and the walrus,koo, koo, ka-choo-