Product Placement

It doesn't matter if the idea sprang from a company ad execs mind and they went out and hired a screenwriter and director (though that IS probably coming in the near future). I have no knowledge about that particular film...but I'd be shocked if Google didn't fork over some serious cash. And frankly, I bet that part of the reason why it bombed is because people (possibly subconsciously) thought they were being asked to pay to see a commercial.

It doesn't matter if the idea sprang from a company ad execs mind and they went out and hired a screenwriter and director (though that IS probably coming in the near future). I have no knowledge about that particular film...but I'd be shocked if Google didn't fork over some serious cash. And frankly, I bet that part of the reason why it bombed is because people (possibly subconsciously) thought they were being asked to pay to see a commercial.

If you've just read what I said it didn't spring from an ad execs' mind - I said it sprang from Vince Vaughn's mind and he had to get permission from Google in order to make it.

The ending though is sadly most likely correct. I say sadly because the idea came from an entirely creative place without thinking of product placement at all. And that the world has gotten to the place where it thinks seeing any product in a movie is product placement when that's not the case at all.

To me, the creative team should be able to do what the creative team wants to do. And if I want a Burger King in my story because I think it will help further what I want to say and the characters, by god darn it - I'm going to have that BK!

To those pissed about product placement, how the above paragraph may have read to some -- "I'm going to have a BK in Mighty Max because it makes all of you think you want to go eat some BK! GNIKREGRUB_GNIKREGRUB_GNIKREGRUB!!!"

Burger-King_1242041106.jpg