Question for Adults.

Fledermaus

Superhero
Reaction score
My grandfather recently passed away. He and my grandmother adopted me. I've spent the last 5 years taking care of them. While I was in college ( I have an Associates Degree in Electronics and another in Programming). my grandmother asked me to move back home because she and my grandfather could no longer drive, or adequately take care of themselves. My grandmother passed away in 2004, so for the last almost 4 years I have taken care of my grandfather. Cooking, cleaning, doctor appointments, the whole 9 yards. Consequently, I was unable to get a job, as he required 24/7 care for the most part. As I said, he passed away recently, leaving me with a house, two cars and almost 90,000 dollars in debt. This was not completely unexpected, however. I was expecting some insurance to help. But it turns out my grandfather canceled the insurance policy that was to cover his funeral/burial expenses, and the other policies that were supposed to go to me aren't. To sum up this paragraph, I am, basically, f#cked. I haven't really had a chance to mourn as I have had to get my s#it together instead. What I'm asking is this: Has any Hypster ever had an experience close this? What the hell should I do? There's about 8000 is credit card debt, do I have to pay that? We have a line of equity against our house at $620.00 a month for 15 years, I can swing that, but I need to know what my options are with the other things. I'm seeing our lawyer on Dec. 6, but I would just like to hear some other opinions. Thanks.