Should I take the offer?

Danger Mouse

Kitchen Appliance
Reaction score
Hi.

First, I welcome only sound advice from mature posters, preferably posters with careers and kids. Nevertheless, anyone with sound advice is most welcome. Anyone else shall be ignored.

Okay, some of you know and some don't, I'm a lawyer. I run my own practice which I've built with my own blood and sweat since 2002. I've hit rock bottom and dug further, and I've seen financially good times. My practice carries my own name and I'm darn proud of it. Not exactly a Fortune 500 law firm, but I bring the bread home. Don't see myself a millionaire in 10 years time, but hey, who knows.

I am also a single parent to a 5-year-old daughter. And since my time is my own, I get to spend time with my kid whenever.

Now comes my problem:

I've been offered by a major law firm (one of the biggest in the country) a partnership, heading their litigation department. I'm talking serious money here. And autonomy. Being a partner and head of a department, they'll leave me alone provided that I bring in the loot.

The catch is that I have to close my current practice. And bigger firm means more work. More work means less time at home.

When I first opened up my firm, I planned on perpetuating a legacy - one that I can perhaps one day pass over to my daughter - that is assuming she becomes a lawyer. But even if she doesn't, there's that legacy. My own firm. Something to be proud of by me, my kid and her children.

But this new prospect promises a far better financial security. Money-wise, I'll be rolling in money far sooner than I expect if I were to maintain my own practice.

But then again, it's not like my current practice is in dire straits. I'm doing okay.

So, your thoughts, please.