Classic Nintendo Games

Mr. Sinister05

Civilian
Reaction score
I've just recently got into playing classic NES games once again. Games like Mega Man, Spy Hunter, Mario Brothers, Double Dragon, Ninja Gaiden, Sky Captain, Track and Field (on the powerpad), Baseball Simulator, Tiny Toons, Tom and Jerry, Contra, Zelda, Yo-Noid, and Ninja Turtles are all games I have fond memories of. Some of these games can be pretty difficult yet they still manage to be fun based off of the gameplay and level of challenge that they present. Once I started playing through Mario 3, an idea suddenly occurred to me. Why not beat all those games that I couldn't beat 17 years ago?

So far within the past month I've actually managed to beat Double Dragon 1/2/3, Battletoads (with warps and extra life code), Ninja Gaiden 2, Star Wars, and Jackal.

With this topic in mind, does anyone here play these types of games every once in a while? If so, what ones do you remember playing the most? What ones were the hardest/easiest to beat and what were your favorites?

I recently started playing old video games alot more. To the point I even went out and bought a new pin connector for my NES (goodbye loose cartridges and blinking power light). A lady at work also just gave me a sega genesis and a bunch of games so I've been hitting that up alot lately too. The great thing is I work in a thrift store so games come through pretty often (though the best titles tend to sell before I get a chance to buy them at the end of my shift).

I play old games a lot, in fact, I'd probably call myself a vetro gamer. I'm lucky to have money, be 20, and have a huge back catalouge of consoles and games to collect.

I have an atari, all sega consoles, all nintendo consoles, playstation 1,2, xbox 360 and little other things.

The wii is perfect for this kinda stuff with the virtual console, but not enough stuff gets released and stuff, so it's a long wait for a good game some times.