Does Female Empowerment exist?

PyroChamber

Not lactose, it's milk!
Reaction score
The term "female empowerment" has been thrown around a lot lately, especially after the release of Sucker Punch.

Where Zack Synder spoke about how this was a movie about female empowerment, while those who've seen the movie see no such thing on display; granted the girls are using weapons and kicking ass while at the same time wearing skimpy clothing with almost no real explaination.

Now the last time I truly heard about "female empowerment" came from, of all people, the Pussycat Dolls.

And I'm no expert on this but it seems to me that some, if not most, of the women talking about "female empowerment" or empowering women are the ones who are dressing in a way that makes them look like nothing more than sex objects; I know you shouldn't judge a book by it's cover but that doesn't look very empowering if you ask me.

Now my question is, does so-called female empowerment even exist anymore, and if it does then why is it that these are the women talking about it the most?

(p.s. I didn't want this to turn into another Sucker Punch thread, I was just using that as one example)

Last edited:
Most of the time girls use this term is to justify the ****ty actions. There is female empowerment, it's just that real empowered female don't need to yell it from the rooftops like the ones ****ting it up.

Unfortunately, many women seem to confuse the term "female empowerment" with either trading on their sexuality or kicking men in the nuts (either figuratively or literally).

Female empowerment, to me, is more appropriately applied to:

- Being the dean at a university.
- Being the CEO of a company.
- Being the superintendent of a school district.
- Being a self-made millionaire / entrepreneur.