4th & 5th Rurouni Kenshin Live Action Movie: Last Arc (The Final / The Beginning)

I am confused by why they are releasing them in the order in which they are.

Finally watched The Final and The Beginning yesterday! (Back to back!)

I will write the review more but now what I can say is the very last movie (which called" The Beginning" is undoubtly THE BEST of all other 4 movies.

Last edited:
The Review:
(I am not really good at writing a movie review but I will do the best as I can, and without spoiling too much..haha)

After watching two movies back to back, the impression that it was the highest point of making a live-action manga into a live action movie remains unchanged. The production value, the action, the setting, I think RuroKen movies can rivals a high budget Hollywood productions.

I never thought that I will be so moved by "Rurouni Kenshin" tale that I have been acquainted with since I was in elementary school. Especially in the last movie...I am very sad to see and at the same time I am happy to see all Kenshin's main story being told in complete and satisfying ends.

I am especially want to focus on "The Beginning" which told the background story of the previous 4 movies. I was very excited because there is a lot of history of my favorite historical figures and periods such Shinsengumi and Kogoro Katsura, Takasugi Shinsaku in the turbulent periods of the late Shogunate era.

For Shinsengumi especially, I am surprised that they appear a lot and not just some cameo thrown. (After watching the movie, I really want Shinsengumi movie spin off that exist in this RuroKen world!)

And the first thing that surprised me when the movie started was the desaturation of the screen. Previously, "Ruroken" had a vivid and bright image, but "The Beginning" has a darker tone overall. So, the image and the color is more dark and bleak.