Should studios spread out blockbusters over a whole year?

mclay18

Avenger
Reaction score
I'm talking about studios focusing on releasing big tentpole films solely in the May-August and November-December. Because of the release dates being in flux, studios are crowding their big releases in perpetually busy months... where there's much greater risk of being lost in the shuffle.

Now with successes of films like The Hunger Games, Fast Five, Fast & Furious and 300 earning summer-sized coin in spring months like March and April... studios are wising up.

Should studios spread their blockbusters throughout the whole year (like in slow months like February, April, and September) instead of just concentrating on the more popular months? I say spread them out.

What do you guys think?

Not sure if it would be a good idea, but then again, I'm not an expert on how much movies make in certain months.

I will say that I'm surprised that Thor, a comic book film, comes out in November.

I think it's good idea in theory, for at least mid-range budgeted films. After Hotel Transylvania cleaned up in late September, Sony essentially booked that same spot for this year, 2014 and 2015 for their animated films.

And if something like The Hunger Games can come out of nowhere and make $150M opening weekend in late March...

Well I think March is considered a blockbuster month ever since or even before 300 came out in 06 and with Captain America 2 coming out in early April I do see studios opening up. Hell even the new (bad) Die Hard movie came out in February.

So yeah I say yes.

Especially in September. Me and my friends always go to see a movie right when school starts and Im sure all of us would prefer a new good september action movie rather than the summer layovers