I Want 1080p on My XBOX 360 (Premium Edition)

Discussion in 'Microsoft' started by DIRECTOR, Nov 30, 2007.

  1. DIRECTOR Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Messages:
    8,210
    Likes Received:
    1
    Any chance this is possible? I think it's unfair that I got the Premium XBOX 360 (with no HDMI support) and the only possible HD quailty I can get is through the component cables that came with the box, but it only can go up to 1080i, not the full 1080p

    Is there any news on an add on or exchange the Premium/Core versions of the 360 for a system with HDMI for a charge?????
     
  2. WhatsHisFace Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Messages:
    39,016
    Likes Received:
    0
    They already included 1080p. There's even a few games that support it.
     
  3. DIRECTOR Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Messages:
    8,210
    Likes Received:
    1
    well, ya, but i'm talking about the 360's that doesn't have the HDMI port in the back, the people that bought the 360's when it first came out
     
  4. WhatsHisFace Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Messages:
    39,016
    Likes Received:
    0
    Why do you want HDMI so bad when components work just as well?

    The only benefit HDMI has is that it's all in one plug.
     
  5. DIRECTOR Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Messages:
    8,210
    Likes Received:
    1
    Component can only give you 1080i, versus HDMI can give you 1080p, if you have a big TV, you can see the difference
     
  6. Dark_Lord Dark Lord of the Sith

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    6,318
    Likes Received:
    242
    I think component can also give you 1080p...the problem is that there aren't a lot of TVs that support 1080p via component...at least that's what I remember reading. VGA also gives you 1080p.
     
  7. DIRECTOR Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Messages:
    8,210
    Likes Received:
    1
    well, there is no VGA port on the back of the 360, so i can only count on Component

    It sucks that my 360 doesn't have a HDMI port and i have at 1080P HDTV
     
  8. Dark_Lord Dark Lord of the Sith

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    6,318
    Likes Received:
    242
  9. StrainedEyes All the way up it!

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2000
    Messages:
    16,332
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can use VGA. all 360's have that ability.

    The difference between 1080i and 1080p isn't noticeable anyway.
     
  10. Purple Prancer Registered

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,470
    Likes Received:
    0
  11. DIRECTOR Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Messages:
    8,210
    Likes Received:
    1
  12. Dark_Lord Dark Lord of the Sith

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    6,318
    Likes Received:
    242
    They do but you have to make sure your TV supports 1080p via Component. Some TVs don't.
     
  13. DIRECTOR Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Messages:
    8,210
    Likes Received:
    1
    well, my TV is 1080p supported, but, when i play say an HD-DVD or game on the 360 hooked up to component, and i check the resolution my tv is projecting it says 1080i. i'm i doing anything wrong, i have the 360 set up to 1080p in the settings, but when i play a game or hd-dvd, it says 1080i
     
  14. StrainedEyes All the way up it!

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2000
    Messages:
    16,332
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you'd listen to what he is saying, he told you that-

    It is possible to support 1080p through component cables, However your TV has to allow 1080p through component cables.

    Most TVs need the HDMI wires to do 1080p, which your TV obviously needs.

    So, your TV can play 1080p but it does not allow 1080p through component cables, some TVs do, You would need HDMI, which the first 360's do not support.

    So your best bet is to try VGA, other than that there is nothing you can do.

    My TV supports 1080p, but it does not work through the component cables, I tried it with my xbox and it automatically switches back to 1080i
     
  15. DIRECTOR Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Messages:
    8,210
    Likes Received:
    1
    sorry, i was confused.

    So, your saying that the VGA cable will project 1080p??

    this is the tV i have, and if you look at the description of the TV, it says "This LCD HDTV offers 1080Pure™ - 1080p resolution out of all HD inputs (including component)"
    http://www.westinghousedigital.com/details.aspx?itemnum=125
     
  16. Dark_Lord Dark Lord of the Sith

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    6,318
    Likes Received:
    242
    The link mentions that the this "LCD HDTV offers 1080Pure™ - 1080p resolution out of all HD inputs (including component)".
    So it should support 1080p via VGA AND Component. I have no idea why it says 1080i when you play a game or HD DVD.
     
  17. StrainedEyes All the way up it!

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2000
    Messages:
    16,332
    Likes Received:
    0
    You have to go into the settings menu in the dashboard of the 360 to change the 360 settings to 1080p. Did you do that? When I tried it went black and then refreshed back to 1080i because my TV doesn't support it through component cables, but if you switch it to 1080p and it stays at 1080p than it should be working.
     
  18. DIRECTOR Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Messages:
    8,210
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ya, i did change the setting on the dashboard. I changed it to 1080p. When i check what the TV is displaying it says 1080p, but if i pop in a game or a HD-DVD, it says 1080i on the TV??????????? :(
     
  19. StrainedEyes All the way up it!

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2000
    Messages:
    16,332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Then I guess, despite what that website says, for whatever reason your tv won't accept 1080p through component cables (mine won't either) It should work with VGA, but unless you trade your 360 in for one with an HDMI port, you aren't going to be going HDMI.
     
  20. DIRECTOR Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Messages:
    8,210
    Likes Received:
    1
  21. StrainedEyes All the way up it!

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2000
    Messages:
    16,332
    Likes Received:
    0
    IGN.com
    http://xbox360.ign.com/articles/735/735904p1.html

    Obviously this is from awhile ago.

    Some games do not support 1080p, So perhaps the game you are trying to play does not. If your tv accepts the 360 switching to 1080p in the dashboard, than that means your tv accepts 1080p signals through component cables. Like I said, my tv does not and when I tried to it went black and switched back to 1080i. Your TV stays at 1080p which means it works.

    So it must be some other factor.
     
  22. DIRECTOR Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Messages:
    8,210
    Likes Received:
    1
    interesting, thanks for the info Geo7877. I tried playing HALO 3, which supports 1080p, and all HD-DVD's are 1080p right? But no luck there.

    The news is a bit dated, i wonder if the solution that Microsoft came up with is the new 360's with the HDMi port or the Elite.

    Because looking at this quote:
    "Microsoft: We can offer 1080p support through both the VGA connection and the Component connection."

    this statement is untrue because the 360 can't product 1080p with either cable with a HDTV that is 1080p ready, unless somebody out there can prove me wrong.
     
  23. StrainedEyes All the way up it!

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2000
    Messages:
    16,332
    Likes Received:
    0

    You're not understanding me... You say that you switch the settings in the dashboard to 1080p, and it works, right? It refreshes and the tv says it's using 1080p.

    That means that your TV accepted using 1080p with the 360. Why it isn't staying at 1080p when you play games is beyond me. But the fact that it accepted 1080p as a setting means your TV allows it.

    Most TVs will just deny the attempt at switching from 1080i to 1080p because they don't support it through Component cables, but your TV allowed it.
     
  24. DIRECTOR Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Messages:
    8,210
    Likes Received:
    1
    mmmmm

    ok, i guess i should call customer support, for both the 360 and my TV to see what's up. But, if 1080p comes out of the component, than that is great news for me, but i still want HDMI though :(
     
  25. DIRECTOR Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Messages:
    8,210
    Likes Received:
    1
    aaaaaaaaaaaarrrrrggggggg

    I was at work during this discussion. I played HALO 3, and it was in 1080p??? but, the main problem is when i play a HD-DVD, it's not in 1080p, it brings it down to 1080i. So, anyone know if it's a XBOX HD-DVD player problem??
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
monitoring_string = "afb8e5d7348ab9e99f73cba908f10802"