Rumored Marvel Reboot: Discussion

CaptainWagner

I'm A Worrier, It's What I Do (he/him)
Reaction score
This is my first time starting a thread here, hopefully I'm doing this right:

For some time now, there have been rumors that Marvel is planning to reboot their comic universe, much like DC's New 52 reboot. So, what are your thoughts about the possibility of a reboot? Do you think it should happen or not? What would you want to stay the same? What would you want to change? Discuss below:

It won't happen, otherwise, Ultimate Marvel wouldn't have been shot.

I doubt it will happen, but it wouldn't surprise me.

It'll never happen. DC does it every few decades and it's expected now but Marvel never has and most stories these days rely on the history. Besides, they have the UU for the reboot ideas.

I can't imagine how they'd reboot it in the first place. People are already annoyed when they rebooted Spider-mans marriage away so going back to the start would be horrendous.

Personally I love the history of the MU and that at pretty much any time they can dig back thirty years and pull out some old character and give him a modern upgrade.

I don't believe it. I also don't subscribe to a lot of Marvel conspiracy theories. Fans are always going on about how Marvel is sabotaging the X-men since they don't own the movie rights. I just don't see it.

I don't think it's all that far fetched. The outcome of the Incursion storyline in New Avengers worries me.

I doubt Marvel would fully reboot their entire comic line although more soft reboots like they did with Spider-Man in One More Day I wouldn't be surprised to see.

Marvel doesn't need to reboot their comic line. The history that the characters have been built upon is part of the appeal to many readers.