The Walking Dead Walker smell washes off. Duh...let's never try it again!

spund

Civilian
Reaction score
Sorry if it's been discussed before...this is my first time on this forum and I just recently got into the show (all caught up now).

Regardless of the logic of the smell, smearing themselves in walker guts apparently does work, and I just don't get why they don't do it ALL THE TIME! The first time in season 1 it only quit working because the rain washed it off....so because of that they just go "duh...it doesn't work, guess we'll never try it again"? Huh???? This has got to be my biggest pet peeve of the whole show, the sheer stupidity of not trying to mask their smell again....I mean jeez, they at least need to be doing it on the missions. It makes absolutely no sense to me!

And then the second time with Michonne...yeah it did quit working, probably because her own blood was mixed in the smell, but it DID work for a while! I'm baffled that the audience is supposed to just believe that the characters are so stupid that they would never try it again.

I realize that the walkers need to be coming after them sometimes for the sake of having an interesting show, but come on, it's just way too much stupidity for them to never ever at least try the gut smearing again. There could be times when they're not smeared (because who wants to have guts on them all the time after all), when they just get surprised by walkers. But they really do need to be at least doing it for the missions. I love the show, but I just think this is one area where the writing needs to be smarter.

My guess is that it would be too much trouble. Plus that blood is disease infected, so any type of cut or skin wound might get tainted with walker blood. Also, it would be too much trouble to find a change of clothes or re-wash the clothes they have .

Because you risk contracting some kind of horrible disease?