Mattchew's WIP thread...

Mattchew

Sidekick
Reaction score
So I dont want to post WIP pics in my main thread, so I'm gonna just make a WIP thread, cause I still want critiques (got this idea from KAD). Finals will only be posted in my main thread.

So please critique my WIP's as they're posted... but constructively, please.

Sticks and stones, and all of that...

So I'm gonna do a pic based on the faun, tree, and fairies in 'Pan's Labyrinth'...

As some have requested, I'm trying (and I realize this is a babyset) to inject a little depth into my pieces so they're not SO completely flat.

I tried just a bit with the pose to give a bit of depth between when the legs are planted. Not sure if its really all that successful. I also did three fairies (ones way back on the tree) to sell the distance, which is kinda cheating in a way but im new to this.

I think I'll be able to fool around with the environment to make the depth of it work, but we'll see.

Anyway, here is the sketch (looks a bit weird cause its made of 3 sketches photoshopped together)...

pans_01.jpg

Let me know what you think!

looking good, nice to see a little more life in your work. I think it's a really good place to start and look forward to seeing the final

I like your line work, very clean and bold, good composition also.
Adding shadow will automaticaly add more depth to the picture, this picture looks like it has depth even without any real shadow because of your perspective and the line work giong from think to thin to emphasis form. If your giong to add shadow I'd make sure the shadow links up or it can ruin an otherwise good picture.

oh yeah the other thing that can help with creating depth is varying your line weight. You have a pretty distinctive style and way of drawing but you might want to experiment a little with that.